Whakamana te Waituna


Robin Campbell

Robin Campbell

Robin Campbell is a retired stud sheep farmer with a long history of involvement on boards, including chairing the Sheep Research Foundation, Ovita, NZ Sheep Improvement Ltd, NZ Sheep Council and AgResearch. He has been regional and national chair of Presbyterian Support, served as a JP for 40 years, and was on the Community Trust of Southland. Recognising his service, Robin was the recipient of a Waitangi Study Fellowship to UK and Europe, has been Agriculture Communicator of the Year, and was awarded the Arthur Ward Trophy for service to Agriculture.

Paul Duffy

Paul Duffy, QSM

Paul represents the Waihopai Toetoe Ward as a Southland District Councillor. His family dairy farm is just outside the Waituna Catchment and his grandparents farmed at Kapuka South. Paul has been on a number of community committees and Trusts, including the South Catlins Charitable Trust and the Southland Conservation Board.

Aaron Fleming

Aaron Fleming

Since 2017 Aaron Fleming has been the Director Operations Southern South Island at Te Papa Atawhai, this includes biodiversity rich conservation areas across Otago, Fiordland, Southland/Murihiku, Rakiura and the Sub-Antarctic Islands. In the Sub-Antarctic, Aaron is the Minister’s delegate for the Coastal Plan. Aaron is a recipient of the Blake Emerging Leader Award, author, athlete and ambassador, a respected leader of people and a champion of the environment.

Nicol Horrell

Nicol Horrell, Co-Chair

Chairman of Environment Southland since 2016, Nicol is a born and bred Southlander who has always been active and interested in his local community, farming, politics and the wider Southland region. As well as several Council committees, Nicol is a member of Southland’s Mayoral Forum, the Regional Sector Group, the OSPRI Stakeholder Council, the Great South Joint Committee, and is Chairman of Te Rōpu Taiao. He is a current member of the Tuatapere Lions Club and has had many other local community involvements over the years.

Michael Jones

Michael Jones is the Regional Head of Fonterra Farm Source for the Otago/Southland Region. Prior to leading the Farm Source team, Michael spent a number of years overseas specialising in sales, account management and leadership roles, most recently in South Africa as the CEO of the Clover Fonterra Ingredients.

Julie Keast

Cr Julie Keast

Julie is a Councillor at Southland District Council representing the Waihopai Toetoe Ward. She lives near Tokanui. Following her election in 2013, to gain insight into the Waituna Lagoon catchment concerns, Julie attended community engagements led by the Waituna Partners Group - the predecessor of Whakamana Te Waituna Trust.

John McCarroll

John McCarroll

John is Operations Manager – Murihiku | Pou Matarautaki at the Department of Conservation | Te Papa Atawhai.

Cr Peter McDonald

Peter McDonald

Peter is a 55-year-old sheep farmer from Dipton who has spent many years involved in conservation at a local level and has been on the Southland Conservation Board for close to six years. He has been a volunteer firefighter for 26 years, is an honorary life member of the Dipton Fire Brigade and is a peer supporter for Fire and Emergency NZ. Peter is on the Southland Regional Council.

Mark Robinson

Mark Robinson

Mark Robinson is CEO of VinPro Ltd, a wine services company in Cromwell. Prior to this, Mark spent 13 years in Fonterra where he held a number of roles in New Zealand and abroad, most recently as the Head of Farm Source for Otago and Southland. In this role Mark was responsible for the Sustainable Farming team and got involved in the Whakamana Te Waituna Trust.

Michael Skerrett

Michael Skerrett QSM

Michael retired in 2016 following 20 years as Kaupapa Taiao Manager for Te Ao Mārama Incorporated. For 23 years he was the Waihopai Rūnaka representative on Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and the Ngāi Tahu Charitable Trust, standing down last year. For close to 30 years Michael was Kaiwhakahaere of Kaitiaki Rōpū o Murihiku. He holds several positions with companies, trusts and organisations as director, member and trustee, is Kaumatua of SIT and Hon SIT Fellow, and is a JP.

Gail Thompson

Gail Thompson, Co-Chair

Gail was born and raised in Bluff. She is actively involved with Te Rūnanga o Awarua and Te Rau Aroha Marae. Gail has represented Awarua in a range of forums, currently as the appointed representative, and has a particular interest in customary fisheries.She is Chair of Te Waiau Mahika Kai Trust, a role she was appointed to in 2012.

Dean Whaanga

Dean Whaanga

Ko Motu Pohue te maunga
Ko te Te Ara a Kiwa te moana
Ko Ngāi Tahu, Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Kahungunu ngā Iwi
Ko Te Rau Aroha te marae
Ko Tahu Pōtiki te tangata
Tihei Mauri ora
Dean Whaanga is the Kaiwhakahaere of Te Rūnanga o Awarua and Kaupapa Taiao Manager at Te Ao Mārama Inc. He was born and bred in Bluff and has a strong association with wetlands, especially Awarua and Waituna.

Being a member of the Whakamana te Waituna partners is an honour for him. He acknowledges the strength in partnership and is driven to ensure the outcomes of their work contribute to the cultural, environmental, social, and economic wellbeing of the catchment.